Hello, World!

Thanks for visiting. I’m the owner of Intelligent Editing, a freelance copyediting and proofreading business. I started this blog to share ways to improve the written word. I’ll be discussing common mistakes writers make, arguing for or against rules and guidelines in various reference books, and raising questions. Matters of word choice will surely come up, because I tend to have strong preferences. I may touch on writing habits and also on aspects of presentation, such as in books, which is my area of expertise. Last but not least, I hope to hear what other copyediting and proofreading professionals have to say on these matters! There are always more rules you can learn, but sometimes good reasons to not use them. Which guidelines are useful and why, and which are bogus?

Leave a Reply

